Home News Australia in winning position, India wait for thriller

Australia in winning position, India wait for thriller

Hosts Australia are hoping for a win in the Sydney Test. If Australia can take 8 wickets of India in the last day, then Tim Paine’s team will go ahead in the series again. However, if Ravindra Jadeja does not able to come for batting, the visitors will lose the match losing 9 wickets in total. On the other hand, Ajinkya Rahane’s team will have to bat all day to save the match, they need 309 runs to win.

On the fourth day, Australia declared the innings with 312 runs for 6 wickets. The classical batting of Steve Smith and Marnus Labuschagne was also seen in the second innings. Labuschagne again missed the century, Smith also stopped near the century. Labuschagne was dismissed for 73 off 118 balls, breaking the pair’s 103-run stand for the third wicket. Matthew Wade also got out after a while.

Also Read – Six Australian fans removed from SCG stands after abusing Siraj

Smith was still in the crease and hoping for another century. But Ravichandran Ashwin took his wicket. He trapped Smith in lbw. Smith scored 81 runs off 167 balls.

After Smith’s departure, Cameron Green continued to make the target big with captain Paine. Green was also on his way to the century, but the outcome was the same as Smith’s. After returning to the dressing room with 84 runs from 132 balls, Paine declared the innings. He was also unbeaten on 39 runs. Navdeep Saini and Ashwin took two wickets each for India.

In reply, two Indian openers got off to a good start. Rohit Sharma got a half-century. But he could not save his wicket at last. He made his way to the pavilion with 52 runs off 98 balls. Shubman Gill also lost his wicket. He scored 31 off 64 balls. Cheteshwar Pujara and Rahane were unbeaten on 9 and 4, respectively.

Brief Score:

Day 4

Australia 338/10, 105.4 overs (first innings)

Smith 131, Labuschagne 91, Pucovski 62

Jadeja 4/62, Saini 2/65, Bumrah 2/66

India 244/10, 100.4 overs (first innings)

Gill 50, Pujara 50, Pant 36

Cummins 4/29, Hazlewood 2/43

Australia 312/6d, 87 overs (second innings)

Green 84, Smith 81, Labuschagne 73

Saini 2/54, Ashwin 2/95

India 98/2, 34 overs (second innings)

Rohit 52, Gill 31, Pujara 9*

Hazlewood 1/11, Cummins 1/25

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));