Bangladesh players to play two-day practice match


Bangladesh national cricket players are set to play cricket for the first time since the start of the pandemic. The 27-member squad will be divided into two teams.

After a long break of seven months, Bangladesh were all set to return to international cricket later this match with the tour of Sri Lanka. But after the postponement of the series, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) are now in complete disarray and wants to start domestic cricket as soon as possible.

The board has started to take the steps and have given hope that domestic cricket will return this month. The players will get the opportunity to play a two-day practice match at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium starting this Friday. The 27-member squad has been divided into two groups. The players were given a three-day leave from their skill camp, which maintained a bio-secure bubble.


Also Read – Teams will be fined Rs 1 crore if they breach bio-secure bubble

Bangladesh’s ODI captain and all-rounder Mehidy Hasan will only miss the first practice match. The players will play a practice match again which will be a three-day game starting from October 13.

The teams are named as Otis Gibson XI and Ryan Cook XI. Nazmul Hossain Shanto will lead the Gibson XI while Mominul Haque will lead Cook XI.

Otis Gibson XI: Saif Hassan, Imrul Kayes, Nazmul Hossain Shanto (c), Mahmudullah, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mosaddek Hossain, Nayeem Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain (12th man).

Ryan Cook XI: Yasir Ali, Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Nurul Hasan, Md Saifuddin, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Khaled Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain.

(function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(d.getElementById(id))return;js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5″;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}(document,’script’,’facebook-jssdk’));