Home News Bangladeshi Shaker named in USA camp

Bangladeshi Shaker named in USA camp

USA Cricket has named 44-member squad for training camp that includes Shaker Ahmed, a Bangladeshi-born American all-rounder.

Like Shakib Al Hasan and idol Daniel Vettori, Shaker bowls left-arm ofthodox and bats left-handed. He has played first-class cricket for Sylhet Division and Dhaka Premier League for Victoria Sporting Club. He was part of Bangladesh squad in the 2010 U-19 World Cup in New Zealand.

Also Read – BCCI introduces new fitness test for Indian players

USA are preparing for return in the Cricket World Cup League 2 after break caused by the pandemic. The 44-man squad includes players from various nations including the Caribbean, Australia, India and Pakistan.

Shaker plays for Cricket Academy of Detroit in the United States. In 2014, he made his final appearance in competitive cricket in Bangladesh. 

The 28-year-old’s academy spoke to BDCricTime.com about his journey.

“Yeah [Shaker] came to USA in 2014, Than he started playing in the local league in Michigan State. League Name Michigan Cricket Association. Since then he has been playing all over USA. He has led our team in a different tournament and has won many trophies. Last year USA cricket started T20 State level League’s where he was selected in the Michigan State Team and then later he was selected as the captain of the State team. Locally he captains our team called Cricket Academy Of Detroit,” the academy told BDCricTime.com.

“He is a permanent resident of United States now so he is eligible to represent.”

The US camp also includes Ian Holland of Australia and Rusty Theron of South Africa.

USA currently have ODI status. In recent times, New Zealand’s Corey Anderson, Pakistan’s Sami Aslam and Shehan Jayasuriya of Sri Lanka gave up international careers for their first nations to settle in the US.

USA Men’s training group:

Aaron Jones East
Adil Bhatti Mid-Atlantic
Akshay Homraj East
Cameron Gannon International
Cameron Stevenson International
Dominique Rikhi East
Elmore Hutchinson West
Fahad Babar Midwest
Gajanand Singh East
Gayan Fernando West
Ian Holland International
Jasdeep Singh Mid-Atlantic
Jaskaran Malhotra South
Josh Dascombe West
Karan Viradiya West
Karima Gore East
Karthikeya Jagadish South
Kyle Philip South
Luke Schofield Midwest
Monank Patel Mid-Atlantic
Muhammad Ali Khan Midwest
Najam Iqbal Midwest
Narsingh Deonarine West
Nisarg Patel West
Nosthush Kenjige South-West
Raymond Ramrattan Mid-Atlantic
Rishi Bhardwaj South
Rusty Theron West
Sachin Asokan South-West
Sagar Patel South
Sahil Charania South
Sanjay Krishnamurthi West
Saurabh Netravalkar West
Shaheer Hassan Midwest
Shaker Ahmed Midwest
Shayan Jahangir South-West
Sunny Sohal Mid-Atlantic
Steven Taylor East
Sushant Modani South-West
Timil Patel West
Trinson Carmichael East
Usman Rafiq South-West
Vivek Narayan Mid-Atlantic
Xavier Marshall East

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));