Home News Chattogram join Khulna in finals

Chattogram join Khulna in finals

Gazi Group Chattogram have booked a place in Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 Final after beating Beximco Dhaka comfortably by 7 wickets in Qualifier 2 at SBNCS, Mirpur.

Dhaka had made a ‘surprise’ call to bat first. The gamble did not work in their favour. Only five men could breach double-figure mark. Although the pitch was slow, Dhaka posted a below-par total of 116 runs at the cost of all ten wickets in 20 overs.

Also Read – Bangladesh vs West Indies itinerary announced

Muktar Ali was promoted to open with Sabbir Rahman. The experiment failed as Muktar departed for 7. Mohammad Naim made 11 at No.3.

Al-Amin made 18-ball 25. Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim also scored the same but faced 31 balls in the innings. Yasir Ali looked promising in his 21-ball 24.

Mustafizur Rahman was the most expensive bowler for Chattogram, giving away 32 runs for 3 wickets, including creating a hat-trick chance in the 19th over. His mate Shoriful Islam picked 2 for 17.

In reply, openers Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar made a solid start, adding 44 runs in 7 overs. Soumya was looking good for his 23-ball 27 but a direct hit from Akbar Ali showed the way back to pavilion.

Liton played an unusual knock of 40 runs from 49 balls, hitting only 4 boundaries. He fell to Al-Amin on the first ball of the 18th over when his team were still 16 runs shy of win.

Chattogram’s run rate was slow with the captain Mohammad Mithun (34 off 35( at the crease. Mithun’s dismissal in the 19th over off Muktar gave Dhaka a chance to pull of a miracle but Shamsur Rahman got his side over the line with five balls to go.

Chattogram will meet Gemcon Khulna in the final on December 18.

Brief scores:

Beximco Dhaka 116/10 in 20 overs (Al-Amin 25; Mustafizur 3/32, Shoriful 2/17, Soumya 1/3)

Gazi Group Chattogram 117/3 in 19.1 overs (Liton 40, Mithun 34, Soumya 27; Al-Amin 1/3)

Gazi Group Chattogram won by 7 wickets

Player of the Match: Mustafizur Rahman

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));