Home News de Kock named new Proteas Test captain

de Kock named new Proteas Test captain

Quinton de Kock has been named South Africa’s 37th Test captain ahead of the home series against Sri Lanka.

de Kock becomes the new all-format South African captain. He has been leading the Proteas in white-ball cricket – T20Is and ODIs after Faf du Plessis resigned as captain across formats. de Kock’s tenure as Test skipper is for the 2020-21 season for now.

Also Read – Watch: Bumrah brings up maiden first-class fifty with a six

“Quinton is happy to continue in the role for the next season and is comfortable with the balance of the workload and we back him fully as a captain,” convenor of selectors Victor Mpitsang said.

“We are also pleased with the leadership group in the team and are cultivating a strong individual leadership culture at the same time, so that the team produces a sustainable stream of potential captains for the future.”

Pacers Kagiso Rabada and Dwaine Pretorius have been left out of the 15-man squad with injuries. Batsmen Kyle Verreynne and Keegan Petersen, pace bowler Glenton Stuurman and opener Sarel Erwee are four uncapped players named in the squad.

Sri Lanka will land in South Africa after the end of inaugural LPL (Lanka Premier League) T20. They will be the second team to tour South Africa after England, who returned home amid COVID scare.

The first Test will take place in Centurion on the Boxing Day. Johannesburg will host the New Year’s Test from January 7.

South Africa will then head to Pakistan for two Tests and three T20Is before taking on Australia either at home or in Perth.

South Africa Test squad: Quinton de Kock (captain & wk), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Beuran Hendricks, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Sarel Erwee, Anrich Nortje, Glenton Stuurman, Wiaan Mulder, Keegan Petersen, Kyle Verreynne.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));