Home News Haddin reckons Indian players are scared to play in Brisbane

Haddin reckons Indian players are scared to play in Brisbane

The ongoing Border Gavaskar Trophy series is currently level at 1-1. Australia and India won a game each and they are looking forward to a great battle in the next two Tests. The third Test match is scheduled to be held at the SCG on January 7 and after which, the fourth and final Test will be played on January 15.

However, ahead of the third Test match, Indian team players made the headlines after they expressed their unwillingness to go to Brisbane for the fourth Test. The Indian team is reluctant to travel to Brisbane due to their strict quarantine rules. Players of both teams might have to isolate themselves and will be restricted in separate rooms in Brisbane.

Also Read – New Zealand take a massive lead after Williamson’s double ton

Queensland’s Shadow Health Minister Ross Bates made rude remarks on Team India. She added that Indians should abide by the quarantine rules else they shouldn’t come to Brisbane for the final Test. Her remarks didn’t go well with BCCI and Indian fans. A top BCCI official on the condition of anonymity added that they are rethinking playing the final Test following Ros Bates’ remarks.

Haddin’s remarks on Team India

Meanwhile, several pundits and analysts also chipped in with opinions. Former Australian wicketkeeper-batsman Brad Haddin made a statement adding that Team India doesn’t want to play at The Gabba as hardly any team who come here secure a win at this venue against Australia.

Haddin stressed on the fact that Australia plays a fearless brand of cricket at The Gabba. He also added saying that no other team has won against them for a long time.

“From a cricket point of view, why would India want to go to the Gabba? No one wins at the Gabba, Australia plays really good cricket there and no one’s won for a really long time (besides the Aussies). There’s a lot of moving parts here. The one thing is these guys have been in a bubble for a long, long time and they might just start to be getting a little bit tired,” the former wicketkeeper-batsman told Fox Cricket.

Team India Test squad:

Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));