Home News Irfan Pathan names his best T20I XI of 2020

Irfan Pathan names his best T20I XI of 2020

2020 has already come to a close but at the expense of some cancelled events in that year. Although BCCI hosted the cash-rich IPL at the United Arab Emirates, some international events were abandoned due to the coronavirus crisis.

As 2020 came to an end very recently, experts, analysts and former cricketers have been quite busy in picking best playing XIs, best players and so on.

Also Read – Rahane responds to reports of India being unhappy over bio-secure protocols in Sydney

Former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan came up with his best T20I XI of 2020. Quite interestingly, the former Indian cricketer didn’t name Virat Kohli as the captain and instead, he went with New Zealand captain Kane Williamson as the captain of his best T20I XI.

Pathan picked KL Rahul and Jos Butter as the opening pair. Rahul has been simply superb as an opener in the shortest form of the game. He also won the Orange Cap in IPL 2020 as he ended the tournament with most runs. On the other hand, Jos Butter is also someone who can give blistering start to the game.

The 36-year-old also believes that Buttler can also keep the wickets well and has been picked as a wicket-keeper. Nobody can ignore Virat Kohli in any of the playing XI and it was no surprise seeing the best batsman in the world in Pathan’s playing XI.

Next comes England all-rounder Ben Stokes and West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard. Both have done enough justice as all-rounders of respective teams. As for pacers, Irfan went with South Africa’s Lungi Ngidi, India’s Jasprit Bumrah and New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson.

Ngidi and Bumrah have often helped the team pick up early wickets for their respective teams. On the other hand, Lockie Ferguson has been quite expensive with the ball but at the same time, he has taken crucial wickets for the team.

Adam Zampa was the lone spinner in the playing XI. The Australian spinner has been consistently delivering the goods for the team by keeping the batsmen in check with his good bowling variations. He is also one of the best economical spinners in the shortest format.

Irfan Pathan’s T20I XI of 2020

KL Rahul, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli, Babar Azam, Kane Williamson (captain), Ben Stokes, Kieron Pollard, Lungi Ngidi, Adam Zampa, Jasprit Bumrah, Lockie Ferguson

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));