Home News Natarajan earns Test call-up, Rohit named vice-captain

Natarajan earns Test call-up, Rohit named vice-captain

T Natarajan continues with his dream run as he has earned a maiden call-up into the Test squad against Australia ahead of the third and fourth Tests.

Natarajan has been included following Umesh Yadav’s injury, who will miss the rest of the tour. The latter made his international debut in the ongoing Australian tour, playing the third ODI and three T20Is.

Also Read – Sreesanth turns to sledging in SMAT warm up game

BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a release, “The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named T Natarajan as Yadav’s replacement. Ahead of the Boxing Day Test, Shardul Thakur was added to the Test squad as Mohd. Shami’s replacement after the senior fast bowler suffered a hairline fracture in his right forearm. Both Shami and Umesh Yadav will head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further rehabilitation of their injuries.”

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma is named the vice-captain to stand-in skipper Ajinkya Rahane for the next two Tests. Rohit missed the ODI and T20I series due to injury. He had to stay in quarantine when India were playing the first two Tests.

Ravi Shastri has his say on Rohit's comeback

The four-match Border Gavaskar series is currently tied on 1-1 after India’s eight-wicket win at Melbourne Cricket Ground to recover from a horror Adelaide defeat, where they made their lowest-ever 36 in the second innings.

The third Test in Sydney kicks off on January 7. Brisbane will host the fourth Test from January 15.

India Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));