Home News New Zealand seal yet another T20I series with an easy win over...

New Zealand seal yet another T20I series with an easy win over Pakistan

New Zealand sealed another T20I series win at home by beating Pakistan in the second T20I by nine wickets.

Pakistan tour of New Zealand have kickstarted with the three-match T20I series between both teams. The hosts started the T20I series, on a positive not by winning the first game. The second T20I of the series played at Seddon Park.

Also Read – Mashrafe’s future not solely selectors’ decision

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first in the second T20I. Even though the results came with Pakistan’s way in the previous game, the visitors played with the same XI. For the hosts the skipper Kane Williamson and Tim Southee made their way into the team and unfortunately Mitchell Santner, who captained the side in last game was asked to warm the bench.

After electing to bat first, the story was the same for Pakistan in this game too. New Zealand picked up early wickets and the pressure was straight away on the tourists. At one stage, Pakistan were 33/3. Mohammad Hafeez who came in at no.4 tried to build the innings for Pakistan.

The right-handed batsman managed to had small partnerships between lower-middle order batsmen and took the team score to 163 runs. Hafeez remained not out at the end of innings and unfortunately missed a well deserved ton by just one run. For New Zealand, Tim Southee bagged four wickets to his name.

The hosts were asked to chase 164 runs to win another T20I series at home. The chase turned out to be an easy one for the hosts. New Zealand chased down the target with nine wickets in hand. Tim Seifert and Kane Williamson remained unbeaten on 84 and 57 respectively. With this victory, New Zealand clinched another T20I series win.

Match Summary:

Toss: Pakistan won and elected to bat first

Pakistan: 163/6 (20) [ Mohammad Hafeez 99*, Mohammad Rizwan 22, Tim Southee 4/21, Jimmy Neesham 1/10 ]

New Zealand: 164/1 (19.2) [ Tim Seifert 84*, Kane Williamson 57*, Faheem Ashraf 1/19 ]

Result: New Zealand won by nine wickets

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));