Home Live Cricket Pakistan beat South Africa in last-over thriller to clinch T20 series

Pakistan beat South Africa in last-over thriller to clinch T20 series

In a thrilling last-over finale, Pakistan won the fourth and final T20I against South Africa by three wickets to clinch T20 series at SuperSport Park in Centurion on Friday.

The men in green got a 3-1 victory for the tourists. Pakistan appeared to be sailing when they hit 92 of one in the 10th after pitching South Africa 144 on what is generally high-scoring ground.

Pakistan beat South Africa to Clinch T20 Series

But six wickets fell for 27 runs after Fakhar Zaman threw a heavy hit of 60 on 34 balls before Mohammad Nawaz sealed the victory with a six on the penultimate ball.

The winning runs were finally scored by Mohammad Nawaz (25 of 21) as he hooked Williams to the middle limit of the wicket for six on the penultimate ball of the game to complete a memorable victory in the series.

Pakistan’s 3-1 series win completed a clean sweep of four successful series against South Africa during the season. They won the Test and T20 series in Pakistan and a one-day and T20 series in South Africa.

The Proteas were dismissed for 144 with Pakistan chasing down the target on the penultimate delivery of the match to take the series 3-1.

Only three players reached double figures in South Africa innings, with Rassie van der Dussen (52 of 36) and Janneman Malan (33 of 28) the main contributors.

They were controlled by some excellent sewing bowls from Faheem Ashraf (3-17 in four overs), Hasan Ali (3-40) and Haris Rauf (2-18) but, as the case throughout the series, they also there was a poor selection of shots.

For Pakistan, Ashraf took 3/17 of his 4 overs and Hasan Ali chose 3/40 of his 4.

Babar Azam Man of Teh Series

Earlier, Pakistan won the tie and decided to pitch. Captain Babar Azam’s decision came as no surprise after Pakistan chased a 204 goal with nine wickets and two overs to spare in the same spot on Wednesday, with Babar making a masterful 122.

Babar Azam Man of The Series

Pakistan, which leads the series 2-1, lined up a team unchanged.

South Africa made two changes, with all-rounder Wiaan Mulder and left arm spinner Bjorn Fortuin replacing batter Pite van Biljon and left arm fast pitcher Beuran Hendricks.

South African captain Heinrich Klaasen said he preferred to go bowling. “It looks like a good window again,” he said.


South Africa: Heinrich Klaasen (captain, wkt), Aiden Markram, Janneman Malan, Rassie van der Dussen, George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wiaan Mulder, Sisanda Magala, Bjorn Fortuin, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wkt), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf