Home News Ravindra Jadeja ruled out of T20I series

Ravindra Jadeja ruled out of T20I series

In what comes as massive blow to Team India, Ravindra Jadeja has been ruled out of the rest of the T20I series. In a press release, the Board of Control for Cricket in India confirmed that Jadeja sustained a concussion after receiving a blow on the head in the fag end of India’s innings in the first T20I against Australia at Manuka Oval in Canberra.


Even after being hit on the head, he still continued to play the game till the end as he didn’t get any medical assistance at that time. In the process, he also sustained a hamstring injury during the game. He was also seen limping on the field.

Yuzvendra Chahal took the field as concussion substitute for Jadeja and picked up 3/25 in 10 overs. He was also named the man of the match for his bowling masterclass. Earlier, in the game, the all-rounder jadeja scored an unbeaten 23-ball 44. His quick-fire innings helped India post a competitive total on the scoreboard.

Also Read – 10 teams will be split into 2 groups from IPL 2021 season

During the game, the 31-year-old athlete was struck on the left side of his forehead by Aussie pacer Mitchell Starc’s ball that deflected off the bat in the final over of India’s innings. A clinical assessment happened during the innings break by the BCCI medical team which fuether confirmed that he had sustained concussion.

The all-rounder will remain under observation and will undertake few more scans if necessary as per the assessment on Saturday. Meanwhile, fast bowler Shardul Thakur has been added to the squad for the remainder of the series.

India beat Australia by 11 runs to take 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series. The second T20I will be played at the SCG on December 6, Sunday. The third and final T20I match will be played at the same venue on December 8, Tuesday.

India T20I Squad

Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul (wk), Virat Kohli (c), Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, T Natarajan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mayank Agarwal, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));