Home News Riyad takes Khulna to Bangabandhu T20 Cup title

Riyad takes Khulna to Bangabandhu T20 Cup title

Skipper Mahmudullah Riyad’s blistering knock has given Gemcon Khulna the Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 title with a 5-run win over Gazi Group Chattogram in the final at Mirpur.

Mahmudullah led from the front to guide his side to 155/7 after being sent into bat. This was a competitive total, given the start Khulna had. Jahurul Islam, who just hit 80 against the same team last time, skied one up on the first ball of the match from Nahidul Islam. Nahidul then sent back Imrul Kayes for 8.

Also Read – VIDEO: Virat Kohli displays funny reaction after dismissing Lyon

Khulna shuffled their batting line-up, sending Ariful Haque (21) at No.4 to assist Zakir Hasan (25). Mahmudullah eventually arrived at the fall of the third wicket. The skipper single-handedly battled till the last ball of the innings as he registered a career-best 70* runs off 48 balls. His knock saw 8 fours and 2 sixes.

Chattogram’s left-arm duo Mustafizur Rahman (1/24) and Shoriful Islam (2/33) starred for the one last time in the tournament.

Soumya Sarkar bowled three overs for 39 runs, 17 of them came from the bat of Mahmudullah in the last over.

Chattogram had a slow start, losing Soumya (12) and skipper Mohammad Mithun (7) inside the powerplay. The tournament’s leading run-scorer, Liton Das saw the end of his innings in an unfortunate run out after scoring run-a-ball 23.

Shykat Ali (53 off 45) took the responsibility, making a maiden T20 half-century after running out Liton in a mix-up.

Mosaddek Hossain’s six on the last ball of the penultimate over from Hasan Mahmud turned the equation to 16 from the last over. Shohidul Islam held his nerve as he picked Mosaddek (19) and Shykat on consecutive balls.

A last ball six from Nahidul only reduced the margin of defeat to five runs as Khulna ran with joy to celebrate the championship.

Mahmudullah was adjudged player of the final. Mustafizur Rahman attained the player of the tournament award.

Brief scores:

Gemcon Khulna 155/7 in 20 overs (Mahmudullah 70*, Zakir 25; Nahidul 2/19, Shoriful 2/33)

Gazi Group Chattogram 150/6 in 20 overs (Shykat 53, Shamsur 23; Shohidul 2/33, Shuvagata 1/8, Al-Amin 1/19)

Gemcon Khulna won by 5 runs

Player of the Final: Mahmudullah Riyad

Player of the Tournament: Mustafizur Rahman

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));