Home News South Africa to allow IPL-bound players to leave Pakistan ODI series midway

South Africa to allow IPL-bound players to leave Pakistan ODI series midway

The Cricket South Africa (CSA) will allow the players — who feature in the Indian Premier League (IPL) — after the second ODI against Pakistan on April 4.

As such, IPL-bound South African players agiso Rabada (Dehli Capitals), Quinton de Kock (Mumbai Indians), Lungi Ngidi (Chennai Super Kings), David Miller (Rajasthan Royals) and Anrich Nortje (Dehli Capitals) will be available for the cash-rich tournament from the beginning.

Also Read – Pakistan U-19 announce squad for Bangladesh tour

According to a report first appeared in ESPNcricinfo, the IPL teams franchises are currently checking on arranging a chartered flight in a bid to ensure the players don’t miss the opening fixtures.

While this year’s IPL will roll onto the ground from April 9, Pakistan and South Africa will lock horns with each other for a three-match ODI series as part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League from April 2 to 7.

Earlier the CSA had also given a break to the IPL-bound players from the four-match T20I series, which will take place between April 10 and 16.

A statement from CSA over a week back had read: “In terms of an agreement between CSA and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), those players awarded Indian Premier League (IPL) contracts will be released early to join their respective teams.”

The decision attracted criticism from former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif as he said: “If Pakistan had left out their five main players, would South Africa have still played with us? Then why are we playing with them?”

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));