Home News syed mushtaq ali trophy 2021: BCCI names 6 venues for Syed Mushtaq...

syed mushtaq ali trophy 2021: BCCI names 6 venues for Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 | Cricket News

MUMBAI: Bangalore, Kolkata, Vadodara, Indore, Mumbai and Chennai have been chosen as the six venues which will stage the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy from January 10-31 in a bio-secure bubble, BCCI secretary Jay Shah told the state associations in an email (a copy is with TOI) on Thursday morning.
The 38 teams have been divided into five Elite groups of A, B, C, D and E. The eight new state teams like Chandigarh, Bihar and outfits from the NorthEast will be a part of the Plate group. Surprisingly, Mumbai, where the state government is yet to give permission to play outdoor sports, has been picked to host matches of Group E. The Mumbai team will thus play all its matches on its home turf.
The tournament assumes importance as the BCCI is planning to introduce two new IPL teams next year and conduct a mega auction too. “The teams are required to to assemble in their respected host cities on or before January 2 and will be needed to undergo COVID-19 testing procedures and quarantine in accordance with the state regulatory authorities,” Shah wrote in the email.
“As we try our best to navigate (through) these challenging times, we count on you for your active cooperation and support in making this tournament a grand success. The full schedule of Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 will be shared in due course,” Shah concluded in his email.
The Groupings:
Elite A: Venue Bangalore
Teams: Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Railways and Tripura.
Elite B: Venue Kolkata
Teams: Odisha, Bengal, Jharkhand, Tamil Nadu, Assam and Hyderabad.
Elite C: Venue Vadodara
Teams: Gujarat, Maharashtra, Chattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Baroda and Uttarakhand.
Elite D: Venue Indore
Teams: Services, Saurashtra, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Goa.
Elite E: Venue Mumbai
Teams: Haryana, Andhra, Delhi, Mumbai, Kerala and Puducherry.
Plate: Venue Chennai
Teams: Chandigarh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh.