Home News Taylor dropped from Kiwis squad for Pakistan T20Is

Taylor dropped from Kiwis squad for Pakistan T20Is

New Zealand cricket team made notable changes in their respective squad for their forthcoming T20I series against Pakistan. The series will go all guns blazing on December 18 at the Eden Park in Auckland. Veteran cricketer Ross Taylor has been dropped from the Black Caps’ set-up as Kiwis announced two separate squads for the next assignment.

New Zealand have also left out pacers namely Lockie Ferguson and Hamish Bennett who are recovering from injuries. Ferguson picked up a stress fracture on his lumbar spine. It has been learnt that Bennett misses out after sustaining an abdominal tear during the Ford Trophy.

Also Read – Pakistan considered canceling NZ tour

Selector Gavin Larsen was pretty much happy with Conway and Phillips’ performance and also spoke about Ross Taylor’s omission.

Leaving Ross Taylor out was a tough decision: New Zealand selector

Meanwhile, New Zealand selector echoed that leaving their talisman batsman was quite a tough decision. Larsen said the team management is expecting Glenn and Devon to deliver the goods once again.

“We were thrilled Glenn and Devon were able to take their opportunities so well in the previous series and we’re keen to give them the chance to back that up against a strong Pakistan T20 outfit,” Larsen stated, quoted by Cricbuzz.

“Their inclusion and the return of Kane means we’ve left out Ross Taylor. This was, as you’d imagine, a very tough decision as Ross has been a consistent performer for us, but unfortunately, we just couldn’t find room in the squad for him due to the quality and form of the other batsmen,” he added.

The likes of Kane Williamson, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Daryl Mitchell and Trent Boult played the second Test against the West Indies, will join the T20I squad ahead of the second and third game in Hamilton and Napier.

It is to be noted that Kane will not play the T20I opener and in his absence, Mitchell Santner will be leading the side for the first game.

In Williamson’s absence, Mitchell Santner will be leading the Kiwis in the first T20I. Santner made his debut in the washed-off third T20I against the Caribbean team. New Zealand have also seen the return of fast bowler Blair Tickner and leg-spinner Todd Astle.

Squad for 1st T20I:

Mitchell Santner (c), Todd Astle, Doug Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

Squad for 2nd and 3rd T20Is:

Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));