Home News The three Alis guide Dhaka to second win

The three Alis guide Dhaka to second win

Beximco Dhaka have won their second match on the trot as they beat Minister Group Rajshahi by 25 runs in Friday’s evening clash in Bangabandhu T20 Cup at Mirpur.

Rajshahi have taken backwards steps with three consecutive losses after winning the first two matches in the tournament.

Also Read – India kickstart T20I series with a comprehensive win

Rajshahi were bundled out for 150 runs in 19.1 overs, falling quite short of their target 176. The top-order collapsed to 15/3 which made the chase even tougher. Mohammad Ashraful disappointed with 8-ball 1.

Valiant efforts Rony Talukdar (40 off 24) and Fazle Mahmud Rabbi (58 off 40) were not enough to avoid the defeat.

In the previous meeting between the two teams, Mahedi Hasan gained upperhands over Muktar Ali in a last over thriller. This time, Muktar completed a perfect revenge by picking up 4 wickets for 37 runs, including the scalp of Mahedi.

Shafiqul Islam (3/31) and Rubel Hossain (2/15) are the other notable performances from the pace bowlers.

Earlier, Yasir Ali Rabbi and Akbar Ali’s 100-run stand for the fifth wicket helped Dhaka post 175/5 on board. Yasir, who was dropped on 31, played a controlled innings of 67 runs from 39 balls with 9 fours and a six. Akbar remained unbeaten on 23-ball 45 runs, including 3 fours and 2 sixes. 

Dhaka were struggling when they were 64/4 at one stage. Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim got a start but perished for 37 off 29.

Dhaka introduced a ‘new’ opener when they were sent to bat. Off-spinner Nayeem Hasan opened the innings with Naim Sheikh. Nayeem played the first ball off Mahedi’s bowling and took a single. However, the experiment concluded in the first over as he was trapped in front on the fifth ball of the over.

Naim (9 off 19) and Tanzid Hasan Tamim (2 off 4) failed to deliver with the bat.

Brief scores:

Beximco Dhaka 175/5 in 20 overs (Yasir 67, Akbar 45*; Mukidul 2/38, Mahedi 1/23)

Minister Group Rajshahi 150 allout in 19.1 overs (Fazle 58, Rony 40; Muktar 4/37, Shafiqul 3/31, Rubel 2/15)

Beximco Dhaka won by 25 runs

Man of the Match: Yasir Ali

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));