Home News Three uncapped in Bangladesh’s ODI squad

Three uncapped in Bangladesh’s ODI squad

Bangladesh Cricket Board has named 18-man squad for three-match ODI series against West Indies. 

Shakib Al Hasan, the No.1 ODI all-rounder, is back in the squad after a year and a half.

Also Read – BCB to dedicate all 2021 series to Bangabandhu

Left-arm pacer Shoriful Islam, all-rounder Mahedi Hasan and right-arm pacer Hasan Mahmud are three uncapped players in the squad. Shoriful, who won Bangladesh the U-19 World Cup, has earned a maiden call-up in the national side.

The squad also includes Mohammad Saifuddin and Taskin Ahmed, who have been suffering from injuries recently.

Taijul Islam is the only other left-arm spinner after Shakib. All-rounder Afif Hossain Dhrubo will fight for a place in the playing XI.

The first of the three ODIs is on Wednesday (January 20). Mirpur will host the first two ODIs before the two teams move to Chattogram for the final.

Bangladesh have not lost a single ODI in the last five encounters with West Indies. In 2019 World Cup match at Taunton, Shakib’s unbeaten hundred and 94* from Liton Das scripted a dominant seven-wicket victory over the Caribbeans.

Bangladesh ODI squad: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mahedi Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam

Bangladesh vs West Indies fixtures-


Jan 20: 1st ODI, SBNCS, Mirpur

Jan 22: 2nd ODI, SBNCS, Mirpur

Jan 25: 3rd ODI, ZACS, Chattogram


Feb 3-7: 1st Test, ZACS, Chattogram

Feb 11-15: 2nd Test, SBNCS, Mirpur

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));