Home News Vince 95 seals Sydney Sixers 3rd BBL title

Vince 95 seals Sydney Sixers 3rd BBL title

Sydney Sixers have won their second consecutive Big Bash League (BBL) season after defeating Perth Scorchers in the final of the tenth edition at Sydney Cricket Ground.

The winners of BBL 2020-21: Sydney Sixers. ©Cricket Australia


Englishman James Vince’s 95 was the star performance in front of 25,295 spectators at Sixers’ home venue. Vince struck three sixes and 10 fours in 60 balls. It was days after he was denied a hundred (stranded on 98*) against the same opposition.

Also Read – Domingo demands more Tests for Tigers

Vince was caught at backward point off Fawad Ahmed in the 16th over.

Sydney put 188/6 on board with Dan Christian scoring the next highest score – 20 off 14. The player of the tournament Josh Phillipe failed to shine in the final as he made just 9 runs.

Scorchers fell 27 runs short of a third BBL title in their sixth final. They required 38 off the last two overs which turned down to 30 from the last, thanks to Ben Dwarshuis’ wicket-taking over. Christian struck twice in the final over to add yet another T20 trophy to his career.

Opener Cameron Bancroft hit 19-ball 30 at the top. His partner, also Vince’s countryman, Liam Livingstone made 45 off 35. Aaron Hardie played a cameo 13-ball 26 before falling in the penultimate over.

Sydney Sixers first won BBL in 2011-12, the inaugural season, beating Perth Scorchers. They claimed their second title last year against Melbourne Stars.

Brief scores:

Sydney Sixers 188/6 in 20 overs (Vince 95, Christian 20; Tye 2/29, Richardson 2/45)

Perth Scorchers 161/9 in 20 overs (Livingstone 45, Bancroft 30; Dwarshuis 3/37, Bird 2/14)

Perth Scorchers won by 27 runs and BBL 2020-21

Player of the Match: James Vince

Player of the Tournament: Josh Phillipe

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));