Home News Warner, Cummins out of remaining white-ball games against India

Warner, Cummins out of remaining white-ball games against India

Australia have won the first two matches of the three-match ODI series against India. However, the team is not getting the two best players of the team David Warner and Pat Cummins in the rest of the limited-overs matches of the long series. They will not be available for ODI and T20I series.

In the second ODI, Warner was injured while trying to save a run in fielding in the fourth over of India’s innings. With pain in his groin, he left the field immediately. Then the left-handed batsman was sent for a scan during the match. After receiving the outcome of the scan, it was revealed that Warner will need at least two weeks to recover from the injury.

Also Read – Asanka Gurusinha appointed Nigeria coach

That means he will not be able to play in the remaining ODI and three-match T20I series against India. However, he is expected to return in the Test series. D’Arcy Short has been called up for T20I series instead of Warner.

On the other hand, pacer Cummins will also not play the rest of the ODIs and T20 series. Cummins, however, has been rested, not injured. The pacer has been in busy schedule till now since the tour to England in August.

That’s why the team management has decided to give him proper rest and wants their no. 1 Test bowler to return with full action in Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

“Pat and Davie are critical to our plans for the Test series,” said coach Justin Langer.

“Davie will work through his injury rehab and in Pat’s case it is important all of our players are managed well to keep them mentally and physically fit throughout what is a challenging summer.

“The priority for both is being fully prepared for one of the biggest and most important home Test series we have played in recent years, especially with World Test Championship points up for grabs.”

The third match of the ODI series will be played on December 2. The T20I matches will be played on December 4, 6 and 8, respectively. And the Test series will start on December 17.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));