Warner to lead Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Australian recruit David Warner has been renamed as their captain ahead of Indian Premier League 2020 season.

Warner previously led Sunrisers to maiden championship in 2016. He captained till 2017 season until he was barred from IPL 2018 following the infamous Cape Town ball-tampering incident.

Also Read – Gill likely for second Test as Shaw faces injury scare

The Sunrisers franchise used their Twitter handle to announce their skipper for this year’s IPL.

Warner made a terrific return to IPL last year when he amassed the highest 692 runs at a strike rate of 143.86 in 12 innings including a century and 8 fifties.

Despite Warner’s form, Hyderabad finished the tournament fourth in 2019 under Kane Williamson’s captaincy, who had led them to finals against Chennai Super Kings in 2018.

Warner has been a part of Sunrisers Hyderabad since 2014. He has made 3271 runs in 71 IPL matches for them with two hundreds.

The 13th edition of Vivo IPL kicks off from 29th March. SRH will play their first match of the season against reigning champions Mumbai Indians on their home turf on April 1.

Sunrisers have ex-skipper Williamson, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Jonny Bairstow and Billy Stanlake in their strong core of overseas players. Mitchell Marsh and Fabian Allen were bought at the auction at base prices.

Sunrisers Hyderabad squad: David Warner (captain), Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Abhishek Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mitchell Marsh, Fabian Allen, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Sanjay Yadav, Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Bavanaka Sandeep, Basil Thampi

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js(function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(d.getElementById(id))return;js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5″;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}(document,’script’,’facebook-jssdk’));