Home News West Indies bat first in 2nd ODI, Bangladesh unchanged

West Indies bat first in 2nd ODI, Bangladesh unchanged

After a short confusion in the toss, West Indies have chosen to bat first in the second ODI against Bangladesh at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur.

Bangladesh and West Indies played their first CWC Super League match


The confusion was around who won the toss after the coin landed. West Indies skipper Jason Mohammed said he would bat first. Bangladeshi counterpart Tamim Iqbal was ‘happy’ with it and later said he would have fielded first anyway.

Also Read – Shakib may skip New Zealand tour

West Indies have made one change in their playing XI. Kjorn Ottley makes his ODI debut as the tourists leave out Chemar Holder.

Bangladesh are going ahead with an unchanged XI following a dominating six-wicket victory in the first ODI.

Shakib Al Hasan, who played his first ODI in 17 months, was the star for Bangladesh as he scalped four wickets at the cost of just eight runs in 7.2 overs.

Hasan Mahmud retains his place after impressing with three wickets on ODI debut two days ago.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal (captain), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah Riyad, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Hasan Mahmud

West Indies: Sunil Ambris, Kjorn Ottley, Joshua da Silva (wk), Andre McCarthy, Nkrumah Bonner, Jason Mohammed (captain), Rovman Powell, Kyle Mayers, Jahmar Hamilton, Raymon Reifer, Alzarri Joseph

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));