Home News Zimbabwe to host Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023

Zimbabwe to host Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023

2020 hasn’t been kind to anyone including the cricketers. All the international, domestic and other events were postponed this year. After several months, slowly international and domestic events were resumed. BCCI hosted the 13th edition of the IPL at the United Arab Emirates.

Now, all the coronavirs affected series which were postponed in 2020 have been rescheduled in a calendar extending to 2023. In good news, Men’s Cricket World League 2 and Challenge League schedule have been announced by the ICC.

Also Read – Watch: Virat Kohli launches a mind-boggling six

The Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023 will take place in Zimbabwe between 18 June and 9 July.

India, the hosts of the tournament and the top 7 teams in the World Super League are automatic qualifiers to the final event of the 2023 World Cup. Meanwhile, the bottom 5 teams from the Super League will play in the 2023 Cricket World Cup qualifier joining the best 3 teams from League 2.

“When we rescheduled the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 to October and November 2023 it enabled us to extend the window for qualification events to take place and thereby ensure we maximise the opportunity for qualification to be decided on the field of play,” Chris Tetley, ICC head of events, said in a statement.

“We have worked very closely with Members and stakeholders to reschedule 96 ODIs and 60 List-A matches and will continue to maintain the safety of participants in our events as our highest priority,” he further added.

Cricket World Cup League 2 ODIs will be held from March 19, 2021, starting with hosts USA playing two teams Oman and Nepal, in a series of six ODIs. By early 2023, as many as 96 ODIs will be played across 14 series.

Meanwhile, Cricket World Cup Challenge League A is scheduled to be played in August next year, with Canada hosting countries namely Denmark, Malaysia, Qatar, Singapore and Vanuatu, across a total of 15 fixtures. The Challenge A final is slated to be held on September 2022.

The CWC Challenge League B is expected to be held in Jersey in September 2021, with Bermuda, Hong Kong, Italy, Kenya and Uganda battling it out at each other in 15 matches, with the final event expected to be played in February 2022. These two leagues will be held alongside the World Cricket Super League.

The ICC further explained the qualification process in a statement on Wednesday (December 16), “After the 21 tri-series in League 2 have been completed, the top three teams will confirm their place in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023.

The bottom four teams will drop into the Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-Off 2023 – which is a repechage event to the Global Qualifier – and will be joined by the winner of Challenge League A and B.

“The top two teams from the Play-Off – which has also been rescheduled to 2023 – will keep their hopes alive of participating in India 2023, by qualifying for the Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023.”

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));